Register now to get rid of these ads!

Technical Rust repair reality check please.

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by albertaboy, Aug 6, 2015.

1. albertaboy

albertaboy

IMG_6191.JPG I've a 40 Ford pickup cab that is rusted in all four corners, likely the lower rear edge, rockers and floor. I've not blasted it yet so I don't know the extent of the damage. The truck is all complete so I don't know what's lurking under the seat or in the cowl behind the front fender, but I suspect it's bad. The rear cab corner rust and both lower doors is typical of the rust you see in the photo I attached.

I have been encouraged to learn how to weld and do rust repair myself. I am tempted and I have self taught myself many things and seen many projects to completion. I see that many patch panels are available for this truck's cab.

I like to hear encouragement or discouraging comments if I can pull this off. I don't plan a show truck but I don't want to end up with a rat job either. I can read as many tutorials as I can find, take a mig course, practice on scrap but am I about to get over my head??? What surprises might I expect?? I wont settle for a half assed job, even from myself.

I keep my eyes open for a better cab but I've found nothing local. Anything in Alberta, where I'm from is just as rusty.

I can't appreciate how many hours it would take to do this but if it's 50 and a pro is $100 or more at shop rate, that's $5000. I either come up with cash for a proper job or move on.

Let me know what you think- you wont hurt my feelings.

Thanks

View attachment 2970964 View attachment 2970964

2. ROADSTER1927

ROADSTER1927

Buy the patch panels, and practice welding on scrap sheet metal. Even if you trim the rust and just fit the patches you will be way ahead. Good luck, Gary

3. squirrel

squirrel