Register now to get rid of these ads!

Customs The Titty Twister '52 Ford latest from the Potter Meat Market

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Squablow, Jul 7, 2012.

1. Squablow

Squablow

Read to the end, there's finished pics at the bottom!

About 2 years ago, I got this '52 Ford from fellow HAMB member Edelbroke in a trade deal.
    It's one of those cars that had a lot of work done to it but a lot of poor taste as well (he
    didn't build it). So I decided to go through the whole car and give it a period-correction.

This is what it looked like on the day I started.

[​IMG]

Note the lack of bumpers, painted door handles, 14" Coke-bottle mags

[​IMG]

Painted tail light bezels and rolled pan built onto the back.

[​IMG]

This is at my friend Tim's place, we swapped labor, he did some mechanical stuff for me and
    I put quarters on his Chevelle. Worked out great since I'm a pretty good welder but a lousy mechanic (plus he's got a hoist in his garage!)

He put in the Aerostar coils and shorter shocks in the front (big thanks to Fairlane Dave
    for posting up that info) along with 3" blocks in the rear. He also went through the brakes
    and did some work on the top end of the motor (which we'll get to later).

Last edited: Jul 7, 2012
  2. Squablow

Squablow

As long as it was up on the hoist, I decided to tackle the inner rockers and body mounts. I
    knew when I bought the car that this was going to be one of the bigger jobs. Here's some
    before pics of the carnage.

[​IMG]

Somebody painted this car and just ignored how there were no inner rockers or body mounts left.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Four mounts on each side, not a single one that was still connected

[​IMG]

A couple in-progress shots

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

3. Squablow

Squablow

After 22 solid hours of cutting and welding 28 separate pieces of steel, it turned out nice.
    I got a little heavy handed with the seam sealer but I want this to last, especially after