Register now to get rid of these ads!

Today's score for my Av8

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by hillbilly4008, Oct 14, 2012.

1. hillbilly4008

hillbilly4008
    from Rome NY

I got all this stuff less that 10 minutes from my house. I haven't ran any numbers yet, so I'm going by what I'm told. The engine is a '47 59a-b truck motor. No visible cracks. The top loader with the swan neck shifter is a '39 filled with zephyr gears. I don't know what the second top loader is. Then theres the boxes of spare parts. I think I counted 5 complete fans, about 10 water pumps, ect...

I'm totally new to flathead fords. I'll be using the search function pretty heavy the next few months...

pics..
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. xon

xon
    from detroit

great score!!!good luck with your build...

3. Mr48chev

Mr48chev
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

OH, Nice batch of parts. It looks like you did good on that one.

4. Dirty Dug

Dirty Dug

Your engine is an 8BA not a 59AB but the heads and intake are 59AB.

5. hillbilly4008

hillbilly4008
    from Rome NY

Dug, how can you tell? Whats the distinguishing characteristics?

6. flatford39

flatford39

The distributor housing for one and it appears to not have a cast on bellhousing. 59A all had a crab style distributor on the front. Yours has the tubr style that takes a conventional distributor.

7. thunderbirdesq

thunderbirdesq

Nice haul!

To be fair, the timing covers do interchange with a cam/waterpump swap. They often were swapped to fit different chassis or to run a mag, etc...

Like flatford says, 8ba/8rt blocks don't have the cast-in bellhousing like the 59a and earlier blocks and thus require a factory adaptor to run the early transmissions like you've got there.

8. ThrottleJockey

ThrottleJockey

The block looks like someone ported (relieved) the block

9. thunderbirdesq

thunderbirdesq

I see adjustable lifters in there too.

10. ThrottleJockey