Register now to get rid of these ads!

Father and Son in La Crosse, Wisconsin

Discussion in 'New to the H.A.M.B.? Introduce yourself here!' started by Cord Blomquist, Mar 22, 2017.

1. Cord Blomquist

Cord Blomquist

I'm new to the H.A.M.B. but I've been involved in the classic car hobby since my dad started taking me to car shows and swap meets at around the age of 10. My dad has always been an old car nut and always had a car or two he was working on when he wasn't running the two auto shops my family ran when I was growing up. We used to have a matching pair of Glen Prey Auburn Boat Tail Speedsters when I was 6. I remember them looking quite nice taking up most of our old garage.

Since about the mid 2000s dad has shifted from the repair business to solely focusing on his passion. He's now restoring cars, restoring parts (especially Trippe Lights and Guide Super Rays), and fabricating his own parts, mostly mirrors and lights parts from cast brass. You can see everything he's up to at White Glove Collection.

I'm now getting involved in my dad's business/hobby again as my dad is in poor health. He got a diagnosis of pancreatic cancer last year and despite doing incredibly well, we're still trying to sell some of the car collection and we're moving toward selling the reproduction parts business, which has turned out to be quite a robust cottage industry. One of my main focuses in working with my dad is researching the "Bonneville Hupp," a customized Hupmobile that raced on the Bonneville Salt Flats in 1935, 1936, and 1937. I've already posted a thread about it, which I guess I should have done after posting this brief intro, but I've been excited to share my research on the car with folks who might be able to help me learn more about it.