Register now to get rid of these ads!

Hot Rods Question About Buying an early 1930's Ford 4 Door Sedan

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by GreaserJosh13, Mar 21, 2017.

1. GreaserJosh13

GreaserJosh13
    from Chino

Hey guys. Let me start by saying I have no experience with old Fords, but I really like the look of the old Model A Sedan High Boys. I'm a father of 3 so l have very little time to build one from the ground up, nor do I have the money required to buy a completely done Model A hot rod & for me part of the fun is doing some stuff by yourself (all of it if I had more time Ha Ha) If I were do buy a complete/running model A what would be the simplest way to get the look I'm looking for without breaking the bank. Can I just buy a model A & pull the fenders off & put bigger tires with some sort of spacers & call it good until I can upgrade to better components. Also if I were to put a flathead in it later can the original frame & drive shaft/axles/differential be used? When looking at some of the old pictures it looks like that's all that has been done, but I'm sure there's a lot more to it than that. Any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks
    Josh

MrPhat40 likes this.
  2. If I were in your shoes, and knowing what I know here's what I'd do.
    Buy the nicest restored one you can find and drive it around for a few months. Decide if you like it or want a hot rod.

Pull the body , keep the lights and headlight bar and sell off the all the rest of the stuff back into the restores pool. With those proceeds You'll be into a really nice body for very little, maybe free or even a few bucks up. You'll have no rust repairs to do, no itty bitty impossible to track down parts. Way ahead of the game.