Register now to get rid of these ads!

History Rich Gausco, Pure Hell, calls it quits!

Discussion in 'Traditional Hot Rods' started by Gary Reynolds, May 21, 2015.

1. LONGTIME rodder/racer is calling it quits! The last tour of the legendary fuel altered Pure Hell is this summer. From Hemmings:
    [​IMG]
    "

Posted by Daniel Strohl - Pure Hell in 1966 at Lions. Photo by Stephen Justice, courtesy Pure Hell Racing. Unlike the big-name rock band farewell reunion tours that never seem to end, Rich Guasco said he's for sure done with racing perhaps the world's most famous Fuel Altered dragster, Pure Hell, after this season. "No, man, I'm done," he said. "I'm 79 years old and I'm tired, and I've been doing this since the early 1950s." And yet, he keeps adding dates to this summer's farewell tour for Pure Hell."
    more info here:

More info here: blog.hemmings.com/index.php/2015/05/21/rich-guasco-calls-it-quits-with-the-pure-hell-fuel-altered-after-53-years/?refer=news

Last edited by a moderator: May 22, 2015
  2. Jalopy Joker

Jalopy Joker

if you get to see it run you'll always remember it.

3. ME.GASSER

ME.GASSER
    ALLIANCE MEMBER

I have seen that run and it's awesome.

4. seatex

seatex

Are my eyes playing tricks on me, or did it blow the front zoomie off? 79 years young, and still tearin' it up, Damn!

OahuEli and Scott Grabowski like this.

5. Thanks for the info, Gary. Anyone else having trouble with the link?

6. mike bowling

mike bowling

79? Makes me want to get off my lazy 67 year old butt and go racing!! ( the head says "yes", but the back says "fugget-a-bout it") Even the insane fuel cars today can't hold a candle to the guys that drove the true Altereds. Like the guy that drives the "Winged Express" says, hitting the gas in one of those is like pulling the pin on a hand grenade! Thanks, Rich, for all the years and all the amazing memories!

7. I have. I will.

8. Fogger

Fogger