Register now to get rid of these ads!

Featured Hot Rods Top Banana Style Slingshot Dragster- Marty Strode-Chris Kopp.

Discussion in 'The Hokey Ass Message Board' started by Marty Strode, Apr 7, 2024.

1. Marty Strode

Marty Strode

I have been building this race car, on another of my threads for a couple months, but now it deserves it's own identity. The original Top Banana was built around 1957 in Hayward California. Hank Vincent was one of the owners, did the driving. The engine builder was George Santos, and it was kept at Hillary Govia's City Garage. The stylish body was done by one of the top metal men around, Jack Hagemann. Running Injected Nitro, it held many state records, ran over 175 in 1958. It was the sleekest of them all in it's time. I have been planning this build for at least 5 years, and one way or another it will run this year ! I am going to post a few pictures of the original then link to my other thread that shows the progress so far. And from now on the progress will be only shown on this thread. As the thread name notes, we are building it to resemble the original, but under the the @chriskopp aluminum body, will be a Certified, Legal to run at any track, chassis, limited to 1/4 mile at 7.50 seconds. https://www.jalopyjournal.com/forum...strip-b-sr-build-marty-strode.1177811/page-40
    Top Banana 2.jpg Banana tall injector tubes..jpg TB4.jpg 092. Vincent-Santos Top_Banana Famoso 3-60 Doug_Peterso (002).jpg

Last edited: Apr 8, 2024
  2. Marty Strode

Marty Strode